Baseball is a Weird Game

I’m a Sox fan.  This is a known fact.  I don’t generally root for the Cubs nor do I hate them.  Yet June 12-14, I was rooting for the Cubs because they were playing the piranhas also known as the Minnesota Twins.  

As strange as that sounds, the Cubs fans were likely rooting for the White Sox over that same time period because the Sox were playing the Milwaukee Brewers.

June 17 and 18, I was rooting as hard as I could against the Cubs because they were playing the Sox.  The Sox took the first game 4-1, and the Sox lost the second game to the Cubs 6-5 due to a five run rally by the Cubs over the course of the eighth and ninth innings.  I’m sure the Cubs fans were rooting as hard as they could against the Sox, too.

Now I’m going to have to root for the Cubs again because they’re playing their next three games against the Cleveland Indians.  The Cubs fans will likely be rooting for the Sox because the Sox will be playing their next three games against the Cincinnati Reds.

It’s sort of like, “I don’t like you because you’re my enemy.  However, the enemy of my enemy is my friend, so that would mean you’re my friend – but that can’t be right, because you’re my enemy.”

Oh, my head.  Anyone got any ibuprofen?

Sox fans saying “Go Cubs,” Cubs fans saying “Go Sox,” and it’s not the playoffs where one team is done and the other is still alive.  (Hey, I can and have rooted for the Cubs if they’re in the playoffs and the Sox are playing golf in Arizona.)

This lady told you this was a weird game.

Leave a Reply

