Illinois Rain

The Sox and Cubs were rained out Tuesday night, and it was Illinois rain.  I mean big, fat drops that I could hear hitting the umbrellas over the commentators during the pre-game show.  Out here in Seattle, we have mist more than anything else.  Thunder and lightning are very rare, as are raindrops big enough to make an audible splat when they land.

There’s talk that Contreras is going to pitch against the Cubs in this series.  I hope he does.  All Contreras has done since his return from the minor leagues is surprise everyone by giving up something like three hits in 16 shutout innings.  He was even chosen AL player of the week.  I’d love to see how he fares against the Cubs.  I also can’t wait to see the newer players like Gordon Beckham and Chris Getz in their first cross-town series.   

By the way, I’m curious to know which Sox fans would most prefer:  Seeing the Sox blow out the Cubs or seeing the Sox beat the Cubs in a hard fought one run game.  Personally, I prefer the latter.  I’d much rather see a game where both teams were at their best and giving each other all they could handle.

Given my sporadic entries, I’m not sure too many people are reading this blog on a regular basis.  If you’ve stopped by and are reading this, please let me know what you think:  Would you rather see the Sox and Cubs play a close ballgame or see one team blow out the other?

This lady’s just curious.  Go White Sox!

Leave a Reply

