Wandering in the Wilderness

Yes, I’ve not published a blog entry since opening day.  Not a good thing, but I try not to make an entry just to make an entry.  I prefer to wait until I have something to say.

Right now, I have to say that I’m sort of wandering in the wilderness due to the fact that my computer is out for repairs, and I won’t get it back for about three weeks.  My husband has graciously allowed me to use an old laptop of his.  It’s running Debian linux, which I rather like, but it’s slower than Jim Thome on the base paths.

Let’s put it this way: I asked my husband what kind of processor this laptop had. He didn’t know the answer off the top of his head so he suggested, “Three drunk squirrels?  There might be a hamster in there too, but nobody talks about him.”  Believe it or not, this is one of the reasons why I married the man:  he makes me laugh.

It turns out this old laptop is running a Pentium 4 processor. I’ve already seen one warning message: “Task aborted: CPU overload.”

What does this have to do with the White Sox?  Simple: I live in Seattle, so  I have to see the Sox via pay-per-view. I have MLB.tv.  Normally, watching the Sox over the Internet wouldn’t be much of a problem.  However, because I would need a calendar to measure how fast this laptop loads web pages, watching an online video is pretty much out of the question. As of right now, if the game isn’t on WGN or isn’t otherwise nationally televised, there is very little chance that I’m going to be able to see it.  I’ve not tried listening to a game yet, but since that runs via Flash, I’m not optomisitic about it working. 

Due to the fact that it’s kind of difficult to comment on a game when you can’t really watch or listen to it, my blog entries are most likely going to be sporadic for the next few weeks. I’ll do what I can.  This lady just wanted you to let you know what was going on.

 

Leave a Reply

